Car won't start? Book a car won't start inspection today

Low cost car won't start inspections at your home or office. Get a free quote and book online with one of our mobile mechanics today.

5 reasons people love ClickMechanic:

  • 50% cheaper than franchise dealers
  • Instant fixed price quotes
  • No need to go to the garage
  • Fully vetted & qualified mechanics
  • 1 year parts & repairs warranty

Let's get you started

"I was very cautious about using ClickMechanic, I should not have been. The service was just what I would have wished for and my car was fixed at my place of work. Highly recommended." - Sara A. Stickley

Meet some of our highly rated mechanics

If you don't book and pay through the ClickMechanic platform you can't leave a review.


Wnpq2wmciibuksvbsg3r

418 Reviews

Verified

26th May 2018
“Andrew was fantastic. He identified the fault immediately and had us driving again in fifteen minutes. He was friendly, explained what he was doing, and double checked his work to make sure everything was sound. Really happy with this mechanic.“
READ MORE

STUART

Nissan Micra • Car Won't Start Inspection

23rd April 2015
“Great service”

ROY

Nissan Qashqai/Qashqai+2 • Service - Major


Qdfpt2nblfebm9efnuyg

9 Reviews

Verified

26th May 2018
“excellent communication from start to finish. on time and called me with regular updates.”

ALEX

Audi TT Roadster • Car Won't Start Inspection

21st April 2018
“Andy was brilliant always kept in contact via phone calls and text up to my appointment time. He was very friendly and knowledgeable. I am very happy with the work carried out on my car.”

IAN

Vauxhall Zafira • Diagnostic Inspection


Jebxj7dkobdtr6iuxbel

15 Reviews

Verified

Zaher Miah

London , 9 years of experience


26th May 2018
“My original booked mechanic couldn’t make it due to technical issues and I had to request ClickMechanic to find an alternative mechanic even though the day was almost over. Zaher kindly took on the job and was very punctual. He seemed knowledgeable about why my car wouldn’t start and communicated possible solutions. He had to take my car and do a thorough inspection. He managed to start the car and explained what the problem was with further advice. Overall a really nice guy, a good listener and a job well done.“
READ MORE

SYED

Ford S-MAX • Car Won't Start Inspection

2nd January 2018
“Zaher was great. He diagnosed the problems with my car quickly and was very reasonable with costs for fixing them. I will definitely go back to him in future if needed.”

RICHARD

Volkswagen Golf • Car Won't Start Inspection


Hbqyd1ffj0e0hsrsjx8b

16 Reviews

Verified

Cw Garage Ltd

Bolton , 10 years of experience


24th May 2018
“Paul was friendly and efficient, and did all he could to help. Highly recommended!”

AARAN

Ford S-MAX • Car Won't Start Inspection

29th December 2016
“The lad that picked up the car was bob on time. Paul kept in touch with the progress of the vehicle, he was great, friendly but clear and professional.

Would definitely use him again. ”

TAMARA

Toyota Yaris • MOT with collection & delivery


Etxyz4bw8absrqrq6hkz

210 Reviews

Verified

D Pyart

Derbyshire , 25 years of experience


24th May 2018
“Darren was punctual and very knowledgeable but my van beat him many thanks and would use again”

PAUL

Nissan NV200 • Car Won't Start Inspection

20th February 2017
“My car broke down, so I was looking for mobile mechanic and I found this site. Book appointment online without any problem, i got confirmations by e-mail and reminders by text message. Mechanic arrived on time for scheduled "car won´t start ckeck". Problem was simple and fixed on spot. Mechanic was nice, communicative and gave me advice, what could be improved in the future. I definitively recommend service from these guys and will return in future, if problem with car will appear“
READ MORE

MARTIN

Kia Rio • Car Won't Start Inspection

200+ Expert Mechanics

Total expert car won't start inspection mechanics

1531 Ratings

Total number of car won't start inspection reviews

Average Rating

Average user rating for car won't start inspection bookings

Want to learn more about Car Won't Start inspections?

Read our short guide with information on costs, symptoms and more.

There can be a number of reasons why the engine starts with difficulty, makes a noise or does not start at all.

Usually when the engine turns over or makes a noise it is unlikely that the car's battery is flat. It is more likely that there is an issue with the car's fuel or ignition system. Alternatively, it might be the case that there is an electronic problem or there might be more significant mechanical damage to the engine's supporting systems like a broken timing or serpentine belt.

If the indicator lights are turned on it is likely that the problem lies with the alternator, starter motor or another component related to the charging system. If there is a light on the dashboard indicating an issue with the security or anti-theft systems, then there is an issue with the immobilizer/security system (it is advisable you contact a specialist in this case, we might not be able to help). On top of that, should any warning lights have lit up then it is advisable to have an inspection, to find out why the light may be on.

If none of the indicator lights on the dashboard light up it might mean that the battery is flat. This can be because of any number of issues, like:

  • Faulty battery charging system
  • The Battery is flat / needs recharging
  • Electrical issues
  • Broken serpentine belt
  • Faulty alternator
  • Battery cable issues

Find out what problem the car is facing exactly by selecting your car at the top of this page and identify the problem in our online diagnostic tool!

What happens next

After a booking has been made, one of our mechanics will carry out an inspection to locate the source of the problem and establish the exact cause of why the car won't start. If there is a minor issue the mechanic will endeavour to carry out any small fixes in the labour time quoted for initially. Should there be any bigger problems the mechanic will provide you with a quote for the work and parts necessary to repair the problem. If you accept the quote the mechanic will order the parts and arrange for a time to carry out the repair.

Book a trusted mechanic today

  • Vetted mobile mechanics
  • Save up to 50%
  • Fast online booking