Car won't start? Book a car won't start inspection today

Low cost car won't start inspections at your home or office. Get a free quote and book online with one of our mobile mechanics today.

5 reasons people love ClickMechanic:

  • 50% cheaper than franchise dealers
  • Instant fixed price quotes
  • No need to go to the garage
  • Fully vetted & qualified mechanics
  • 1 year parts & repairs warranty

"I was very cautious about using ClickMechanic, I should not have been. The service was just what I would have wished for and my car was fixed at my place of work. Highly recommended." - Sara A. Stickley

Watch video

Meet some of our highly rated mechanics

If you don't book and pay through the ClickMechanic platform you can't leave a review.


L1azgetbgfgr0tkkgmns

27 Reviews

Verified

Eastlake Garage

Bridgend , 10 years of experience


15th January 2018
“Brilliant work, fixed quickly and told me exactly what he was doing ”

JACK

Vauxhall Corsa • Car Won't Start Inspection

2nd December 2017
“The mechanic from Eastlake Garage was friendly, helpful, efficient and did a thorough job of doing a full service on my car. I found the whole service to be clear, transparent, and helpful. It was so useful that he came to my house, saving me time and inconvenience. Highly recommended!“
READ MORE

ELIZABETH

Kia Sportage • Major Service


Wrench hand blue

24 Reviews

Verified

Ac Automotive

Corsham , 10 years of experience


14th January 2018
“Andy was terrific ”

JERMAINE

Ford Focus • Car Won't Start Inspection

16th December 2017
“Always again!”

MICHAEL

BMW 3 Series • Basic Pre-purchase Inspection


Wrench hand blue

1 Reviews

Verified

13th January 2018
“Liam was friendly, a good communicator and wold strongly recommend.”

JUDITH

SEAT Leon • Car Won't Start Inspection


Wrench hand blue

144 Reviews

Verified

Tc Mobile Mechanics

Harrow , 35 years of experience


13th January 2018
“Andrew did a good job with diagnosing my car's fault, providing advice and changing the broken parts. Thanks.”

CLIVE

Vauxhall Astra • Car Won't Start Inspection

10th September 2014
“none”

WILSON

Mitsubishi Space Wagon • Alternator drive/serpentine belt replacement


Wrench hand blue

15 Reviews

Verified

Iss Motors

Walsall Wood , 33 years of experience


13th January 2018
“Iain was brilliant first class service.”

PETER

Vauxhall Zafira • Car Won't Start Inspection

2nd January 2018
“Iain gave clear advice, was knowledgeable, and performed a thorough diagnosis.
Thanks.”

IAIN

Toyota Yaris • Gear Selector And Transmission Inspection

200+ Expert Mechanics

Total expert car won't start inspection mechanics

1372 Ratings

Total number of car won't start inspection reviews

Average Rating

Average user rating for car won't start inspection bookings

Want to learn more about Car Won't Start inspections?

Read our short guide with information on costs, symptoms and more.

There can be a number of reasons why the engine starts with difficulty, makes a noise or does not start at all.

Usually when the engine turns over or makes a noise it is unlikely that the car's battery is flat. It is more likely that there is an issue with the car's fuel or ignition system. Alternatively, it might be the case that there is an electronic problem or there might be more significant mechanical damage to the engine's supporting systems like a broken timing or serpentine belt.

If the indicator lights are turned on it is likely that the problem lies with the alternator, starter motor or another component related to the charging system. If there is a light on the dashboard indicating an issue with the security or anti-theft systems, then there is an issue with the immobilizer/security system (it is advisable you contact a specialist in this case, we might not be able to help). On top of that, should any warning lights have lit up then it is advisable to have an inspection, to find out why the light may be on.

If none of the indicator lights on the dashboard light up it might mean that the battery is flat. This can be because of any number of issues, like:

  • Faulty battery charging system
  • The Battery is flat / needs recharging
  • Electrical issues
  • Broken serpentine belt
  • Faulty alternator
  • Battery cable issues

Find out what problem the car is facing exactly by selecting your car at the top of this page and identify the problem in our online diagnostic tool!

What happens next

After a booking has been made, one of our mechanics will carry out an inspection to locate the source of the problem and establish the exact cause of why the car won't start. If there is a minor issue the mechanic will endeavour to carry out any small fixes in the labour time quoted for initially. Should there be any bigger problems the mechanic will provide you with a quote for the work and parts necessary to repair the problem. If you accept the quote the mechanic will order the parts and arrange for a time to carry out the repair.

Book a trusted mechanic today

  • Vetted mobile mechanics
  • Save up to 50%
  • Fast online booking