Car won't start? Book a car won't start inspection today

Low cost car won't start inspections at your home or office. Get a free quote and book online with one of our mobile mechanics today.

5 reasons people love ClickMechanic:

  • 50% cheaper than franchise dealers
  • Instant fixed price quotes
  • No need to go to the garage
  • Fully vetted & qualified mechanics
  • 1 year parts & repairs warranty

Let's get you started

"I was very cautious about using ClickMechanic, I should not have been. The service was just what I would have wished for and my car was fixed at my place of work. Highly recommended." - Sara A. Stickley

Meet some of our highly rated mechanics

If you don't book and pay through the ClickMechanic platform you can't leave a review.


Yfrmdwicgaiynvij6uib

99 Reviews

Verified

Advance Mechanics

Stoke-on-Trent , 15 years of experience


22nd September 2018
“Jaz was very good, he found the problem and informed me of exactly what it was. This gave me options on how to fix it. He was honest and professional, very friendly and knowledgable. He arrived exactly when he said he would. The car is now fixed the cheapest way. I will be recommending him and ClickMechanic to my family.“
READ MORE

PAUL

Fiat Panda • Car Won't Start Inspection

4th June 2018
“jazz the mechanic that was instructed to carry out my inspection did a fantastic job i couldnt be any happier , i could tel just by talking to him on the phone he had all the knowledge and no how that i was hoping he would have .”

JASON

Renault Trafic • Premium Pre-purchase Inspection


Wrench hand blue

2 Reviews

Verified

Ldr Repair

Leeds , 20 years of experience


22nd September 2018
“Jimmy was very competent and informative, he found the problem very quickly and was very polite, I would definitely like to use him again should my car develop another problem, I would also recommend the service to friends and family.”

FRANCES

Toyota AYGO • Car Won't Start Inspection

7th April 2017
“Jimmy was excellent. I had been advised that the timing chain on my Alfa Romeo Brera needed to be replaced. Before going ahead (particularly as I had not used Click Mechanic before) I requested a diagnostic check to confirm the work required. Jimmy was knowledgeable and reassuring. He had thoroughly read the briefing notes I had submitted and explained the work required in terms I could understand. I look forward to seeing him again when the repairs are undertaken.“
READ MORE

JOHN

Alfa Romeo Brera • Diagnostic Inspection


Wrench hand blue

17 Reviews

Verified

Slocombes

Willesden , 13 years of experience


22nd September 2018
“Andrew was friendly, helpful and most importantly successful in diagnosing the problem. He got me running again and advised of the likely cost of a longer term repair. Exactly what I needed.”

PAUL

Mercedes-Benz A-Class • Car Won't Start Inspection

25th August 2017
“Chris was extremely polite and informative done an excellent job I'm on the road again....thank you

GEORGE

BMW 5 Series • Diagnostic Inspection


Vswhqac1pvbxjfa5t8mi

18 Reviews

Verified

21st September 2018
“CJ was early, was quick to diagnose the problem and had my car running within 10 minutes. He was friendly and explained what he was doing at every stage.”

ANGUS

Ford Focus C-MAX • Car Won't Start Inspection

7th November 2017
“Cj was excellent work carried out very profesionally great comunications highly reccomend ”

ROBIN

Subaru Impreza • Premium Pre-purchase Inspection


Vyptpdbuntjxxl7xk6ep

339 Reviews

Verified

Jdb

Poole , 36 years of experience


21st September 2018
“James was very prompt and diagnosed the problem very quickly. Nice guy too. Recommended.”

MARK

Mazda RX-8 • Car Won't Start Inspection

29th September 2015
“James turned up before time and got on with the job,excellent mechanic.”

MICHAEL

Rover 25 • Clutch replacement (Plate, cover & release bearing)

200+ Expert Mechanics

Total expert car won't start inspection mechanics

1758 Ratings

Total number of car won't start inspection reviews

Average Rating

Average user rating for car won't start inspection bookings

Want to learn more about Car Won't Start inspections?

Read our short guide with information on costs, symptoms and more.

There can be a number of reasons why the engine starts with difficulty, makes a noise or does not start at all.

Usually when the engine turns over or makes a noise it is unlikely that the car's battery is flat. It is more likely that there is an issue with the car's fuel or ignition system. Alternatively, it might be the case that there is an electronic problem or there might be more significant mechanical damage to the engine's supporting systems like a broken timing or serpentine belt.

If the indicator lights are turned on it is likely that the problem lies with the alternator, starter motor or another component related to the charging system. If there is a light on the dashboard indicating an issue with the security or anti-theft systems, then there is an issue with the immobilizer/security system (it is advisable you contact a specialist in this case, we might not be able to help). On top of that, should any warning lights have lit up then it is advisable to have an inspection, to find out why the light may be on.

If none of the indicator lights on the dashboard light up it might mean that the battery is flat. This can be because of any number of issues, like:

  • Faulty battery charging system
  • The Battery is flat / needs recharging
  • Electrical issues
  • Broken serpentine belt
  • Faulty alternator
  • Battery cable issues

Find out what problem the car is facing exactly by selecting your car at the top of this page and identify the problem in our online diagnostic tool!

What happens next

After a booking has been made, one of our mechanics will carry out an inspection to locate the source of the problem and establish the exact cause of why the car won't start. If there is a minor issue the mechanic will endeavour to carry out any small fixes in the labour time quoted for initially. Should there be any bigger problems the mechanic will provide you with a quote for the work and parts necessary to repair the problem. If you accept the quote the mechanic will order the parts and arrange for a time to carry out the repair.

Book a trusted mechanic today

  • Vetted mobile mechanics
  • Save up to 50%
  • Fast online booking

Recent Car Won't Start inspection quotes

£60.02

Car Won't Start Inspection

Lexus RX 450h 3.5L 2013
Manningtree
£56.38

Car Won't Start Inspection

BMW 3 Series 320i 2.2L 2002
West Byfleet
£63.62

Car Won't Start Inspection

Fiat Scudo 1.9L 2005
Hastings
£54.56

Car Won't Start Inspection

Mini Countryman One 1.6L 2010 13
Camberley