Car won't start? Book a car won't start inspection today

A fair price in seconds, mechanics you can trust, next-day service at your door

Excellent rating - 9.3 out of 10 (4300+ reviews)

Get a quote


Not sure what's wrong?

Get a free phone consultation with one of our in-house mechanics, with an average of 20 years experience. Fill in your details and they'll give you a call back within 2 hours. (Monday to Friday 8am - 6:30pm)

Up to 50% cheaper than franchise dealers

Instant fixed price quotes
(no hidden estimates)

Fully vetted & qualified mechanics

1 year parts & repairs warranty

Next day bookings at your home or office

Get your car repaired at your home or office

Recent Reviews Related to Car Won't Start Inspection


40 Reviews

Lou's Autos

Garage in Hornchurch, 9 years of experience


19th July 2019
“He was very good and knew what he was doing got my car going working very hard all day”

STEPHEN

Smart Smart • Car Won't Start Inspection

7th August 2018
“Louis is highly recommended - great communications and speedy, efficient work. He's also extremely polite and thoughtful. Will definitely use him again when required.”

ROGER

Audi A4 Cabriolet • Plug-in Diagnostic Inspection


308 Reviews

S D Norgate Mobile Mechanic

Mobile mechanic in Bracknell, 13 years of experience


18th July 2019
“Sam was fantastic, arrived on time and went all out to identify the problem of my car. I can't recommend his services highly enough, a very honest mechanic. Explained in simple terms the problem. Would hope to deal with him again. Thank you Sam.“
READ MORE

RICHARD

Volkswagen Golf • Car Won't Start Inspection

3rd May 2019
“Sam was great and very honest as I only needed to replace break sensor and not brake pads
I will ask Sam to do my car service when needed”

PAUL

Mercedes-Benz B-Class • Brake pads replacement - front (all)


141 Reviews


18th July 2019
“The guys were great, really helpful looked at two cars and will be using them for the repairs following investigative work. Highly recommended.”

DAVID

MINI Mini • Car Won't Start Inspection

12th October 2018
“Fab easy service, I would highly recommend this service and Joe to others”

LAURA

Volvo XC90 • Car Won't Start Inspection


159 Reviews

Mjd Automotive

Garage in Glasgow, 10 years of experience


18th July 2019
“Great, quick response, sent inquiry Sunday night and he showed up Monday Midday. Explained things at the right level, effecient, got problem sorted, entertained my silly toddler. Thanks, appreciated!”

BROOKE

Renault Clio • Car Won't Start Inspection

27th February 2018
“Matthew was fantastic, very polite, very friendly, very knowledgeable. He went over and above, would highly recommend.”

JACK

Citroen Berlingo • Auxiliary drive belt replacement


54 Reviews

Mechanical Vehicle Solutions

Garage in Witney, 20 years of experience


16th July 2019
“Mark was excellent, he was very approachable friendly and helpful in many ways he has sorted my cars problem and at the same time gave me some knowledge too couldn't be any more happy very pleased.

Thank you.”

DARIUS

Dodge Caliber • Car Won't Start Inspection

15th July 2019
“Mark was great. Super comms and very helpful. Would definitely use again. Highly recommended.”

RICHARD

Audi A3 • Diagnostic Inspection

200+ Expert Mechanics

Total expert car won't start inspection mechanics

1774 Ratings

Total number of car won't start inspection reviews

Average Rating

Average user rating for car won't start inspection bookings

Want to learn more about Car Won't Start inspections?

Read our short guide with information on costs, symptoms and more.

There can be a number of reasons why the engine starts with difficulty, makes a noise or does not start at all.

Usually when the engine turns over or makes a noise it is unlikely that the car's battery is flat. It is more likely that there is an issue with the car's fuel or ignition system. Alternatively, it might be the case that there is an electronic problem or there might be more significant mechanical damage to the engine's supporting systems like a broken timing or serpentine belt.

If the indicator lights are turned on it is likely that the problem lies with the alternator, starter motor or another component related to the charging system. If there is a light on the dashboard indicating an issue with the security or anti-theft systems, then there is an issue with the immobilizer/security system (it is advisable you contact a specialist in this case, we might not be able to help). On top of that, should any warning lights have lit up then it is advisable to have an inspection, to find out why the light may be on.

If none of the indicator lights on the dashboard light up it might mean that the battery is flat. This can be because of any number of issues, like:

  • Faulty battery charging system
  • The Battery is flat / needs recharging
  • Electrical issues
  • Broken serpentine belt
  • Faulty alternator
  • Battery cable issues

Find out what problem the car is facing exactly by selecting your car at the top of this page and identify the problem in our online diagnostic tool!

What happens next

After a booking has been made, one of our mechanics will carry out an inspection to locate the source of the problem and establish the exact cause of why the car won't start. If there is a minor issue the mechanic will endeavour to carry out any small fixes in the labour time quoted for initially. Should there be any bigger problems the mechanic will provide you with a quote for the work and parts necessary to repair the problem. If you accept the quote the mechanic will order the parts and arrange for a time to carry out the repair.

Book a trusted mechanic today

Get an instant quote, then book a vetted mechanic to fix your car at your home or office.

  • Vetted mechanics
  • Save up to 50%
  • Fast online booking

Recent Car Won't Start inspection quotes

These recent quotes were taken from our quote engine which uses third-party industry standard data on repair times, along with a live parts retailer, and a regional labour rate to build an accurate free quote. We are constantly improving our quote engine, so please let us know if a price seems incorrect.

£60.02

Car Won't Start Inspection

Lexus RX 450h 3.5L 2013
Manningtree
£56.38

Car Won't Start Inspection

BMW 3 Series 320i 2.2L 2002
West Byfleet
£63.62

Car Won't Start Inspection

Fiat Scudo 1.9L 2005
Hastings
£54.56

Car Won't Start Inspection

Mini Countryman One 1.6L 2010 13
Camberley