Car won't start? Book a car won't start inspection today

A fair price in seconds, mechanics you can trust, next-day service at your door

Excellent rating - 9.3 out of 10 (4300+ reviews)

Get a quote


Not sure what's wrong?

Get a free phone consultation with one of our in-house mechanics, with an average of 20 years experience. Fill in your details and they'll give you a call back within 2 hours. (Monday to Friday 8am - 6:30pm)

Up to 50% cheaper than franchise dealers

Instant fixed price quotes
(no hidden estimates)

Fully vetted & qualified mechanics

1 year parts & repairs warranty

Next day bookings at your home or office

Get your car repaired at your home or office

Recent Reviews Related to Car Won't Start Inspection


Hbqyd1ffj0e0hsrsjx8b

30 Reviews

Verified

Cw Garage Ltd

Garage in Bolton, 10 years of experience


24th May 2019
“They did what I asked and paid for on time give me info if I didn't have a mate doing the work for free Labour I would of give these guys the job”

PETER

Ford Mondeo • Car Won't Start Inspection

30th June 2015
“Click is on the expensive side but my own fault for being so last minute. Paul was in contact constantly and explained things brilliantly ”

SARAH

Ford Fiesta • MOT with collection & delivery


Luouwnmj7bs6vs5gti9q

75 Reviews

Verified

The Car Doctor

Mobile mechanic in Nuneaton, 30 years of experience


21st May 2019
“Stephen was really great. I'm pleased with the work he did. He's very knowledgeable and managed to spot and fix what the problem was. Would definitely use his services again.”

LUCIA

Toyota AYGO • Car Won't Start Inspection

22nd February 2019
“Stephen was very thorough with the work and took his time to do a good job.
Very happy with the work.”

SAMEER

Toyota Avensis • Alternator replacement


Q1oyfuwqr97wwvnlmctj

22 Reviews

Verified

Rln Automotive

Mobile mechanic in Rugby, 11 years of experience


20th May 2019
“Nicholas was brilliant, friendly and quite to find the fault and fix it - I was up and running again in no time, THANK YOU”

DARREN

Skoda Superb • Car Won't Start Inspection

2nd August 2018
“Outstanding service... even though a mistake on my behalf Nicholas pulled some strings and got me back on the road. Very happy will definitely use again 👍”

KARL

Vauxhall Movano • Brake pads replacement - front (all)


T69cyhpmek8srggwtrse

1 Reviews

Verified

York Mot Services

Garage in York, 27 years of experience


17th May 2019
“Matt was very friendly and helpful, explained everything to me. He arrived promptly.”

CHRISTINE

Peugeot 208 • Car Won't Start Inspection


Hxa6t0beqq8azbstmrkh

64 Reviews

Verified

Wnm Autos

Garage in Lancashire, 23 years of experience


17th May 2019
“Wayne was very good. Solved the problem with the car easily. I would recommend Wayne again.”

JACQUELINE

Honda Jazz • Car Won't Start Inspection

4th April 2019
“Wayne did an excellent job... Top man. Punctual, polite and knows his stuff.. Couldn't ask for more.”

SCOTT

Alfa Romeo 159 • Brake pads replacement - front (all)

200+ Expert Mechanics

Total expert car won't start inspection mechanics

1717 Ratings

Total number of car won't start inspection reviews

Average Rating

Average user rating for car won't start inspection bookings

Want to learn more about Car Won't Start inspections?

Read our short guide with information on costs, symptoms and more.

There can be a number of reasons why the engine starts with difficulty, makes a noise or does not start at all.

Usually when the engine turns over or makes a noise it is unlikely that the car's battery is flat. It is more likely that there is an issue with the car's fuel or ignition system. Alternatively, it might be the case that there is an electronic problem or there might be more significant mechanical damage to the engine's supporting systems like a broken timing or serpentine belt.

If the indicator lights are turned on it is likely that the problem lies with the alternator, starter motor or another component related to the charging system. If there is a light on the dashboard indicating an issue with the security or anti-theft systems, then there is an issue with the immobilizer/security system (it is advisable you contact a specialist in this case, we might not be able to help). On top of that, should any warning lights have lit up then it is advisable to have an inspection, to find out why the light may be on.

If none of the indicator lights on the dashboard light up it might mean that the battery is flat. This can be because of any number of issues, like:

  • Faulty battery charging system
  • The Battery is flat / needs recharging
  • Electrical issues
  • Broken serpentine belt
  • Faulty alternator
  • Battery cable issues

Find out what problem the car is facing exactly by selecting your car at the top of this page and identify the problem in our online diagnostic tool!

What happens next

After a booking has been made, one of our mechanics will carry out an inspection to locate the source of the problem and establish the exact cause of why the car won't start. If there is a minor issue the mechanic will endeavour to carry out any small fixes in the labour time quoted for initially. Should there be any bigger problems the mechanic will provide you with a quote for the work and parts necessary to repair the problem. If you accept the quote the mechanic will order the parts and arrange for a time to carry out the repair.

Book a trusted mechanic today

Get an instant quote, then book a vetted mechanic to fix your car at your home or office.

  • Vetted mechanics
  • Save up to 50%
  • Fast online booking

Recent Car Won't Start inspection quotes

£60.02

Car Won't Start Inspection

Lexus RX 450h 3.5L 2013
Manningtree
£56.38

Car Won't Start Inspection

BMW 3 Series 320i 2.2L 2002
West Byfleet
£63.62

Car Won't Start Inspection

Fiat Scudo 1.9L 2005
Hastings
£54.56

Car Won't Start Inspection

Mini Countryman One 1.6L 2010 13
Camberley