Car won't start? Book a car won't start inspection today

Over 1.5 million quotes since 2013

Excellent rating - 9.3 out of 10 (4300+ reviews)

Get a quote


Not sure what's wrong?

Get a free phone consultation with one of our in-house mechanics, with an average of 20 years experience. Fill in your details and they'll give you a call back within 2 hours. (Monday to Friday 8am - 6:30pm)

Up to 50% cheaper than franchise dealers

Instant fixed price quotes
(no hidden estimates)

Fully vetted & qualified mechanics

1 year parts & repairs warranty

Next day bookings at your home or office

Get your car repaired at your home or office

Meet some of the highly rated mechanics on our network

If you don't book and pay through the ClickMechanic platform you can't leave a review.


Szasa0vns1nolaxwwq4e

22 Reviews

Verified

13th November 2018
“Very thorough..started with the simple things and worked his way up..thankfully not too far up😊.definitely on my contacts list for future.”

ALLAN

Chrysler 300C • Car Won't Start Inspection

14th October 2017
“Mike;...experienced, knowledgeable , friendly”

PHILIP

Mercedes-Benz Vito • Diagnostic inspection


Yx4d84h9vmkgwzfxfvib

226 Reviews

Verified

11th November 2018
“Nick got to the bottom of the problem quickly. Advice he gave was appropriate”

FAWAD

Audi A4 • Car Won't Start Inspection

14th February 2017
“Very knowledgeable and as a person that doesn't have a clue about cars, he explained things very well. He pleased and helped me to make an informed decision on the car.”

SARAH

BMW 1 Series • Pre-purchase Inspection


Vyptpdbuntjxxl7xk6ep

339 Reviews

Verified

Jdb

Poole , 36 years of experience


7th November 2018
“James was good, i realy havent seen what he has done as i wasnt at home but it seems its fixed and working well only one thing i wasnt happy with was price i think £80 its a lot for 10 minute check and then another 75 for 20 minute work.”

SAMUEL

Volkswagen Golf • Car Won't Start Inspection

11th April 2017
“James was more than helpful and I would not hesitate to recommend clickmachanic to my friends and family”

JENNIFER

Fiat Panda/Panda Classic • Pre-purchase Inspection


Jquo02t1xdfaa5t2d4sv

5 Reviews

Verified

Kmp Crash Repairs

Woking , 4 years of experience


7th November 2018
“yes he did the job as required and confirmed my problems and offered solutions”

ROBIN

Land Rover Range Rover • Car Won't Start Inspection

15th October 2018
“Very happy with the work done on my car. The mechanic was friendly and kept me up to date with the work. At one point it seemed like extra work would need to be carried out, but after further investigation by the mechanic it was discovered that this was not the case and this made me feel really secure that I was not going to be ripped off. I think I've found a new regular mechanic!“
READ MORE

TRINE

Ford Ka • Oil sump pan replacement


V1fvpd58jmopkmuhxbsb

229 Reviews

Verified

6th November 2018
“John was very friendly, easy to talk to, and diagnosed the issue very quickly. Highly recommended.”

TOBY

Citroen Xsara Picasso • Car Won't Start Inspection

18th March 2018
“Good communications, arrived at the agreed time. Did the work as expected. Would recommend.
..”

DAVID

Audi TT Coupe • Full Service

200+ Expert Mechanics

Total expert car won't start inspection mechanics

1509 Ratings

Total number of car won't start inspection reviews

Average Rating

Average user rating for car won't start inspection bookings

Want to learn more about Car Won't Start inspections?

Read our short guide with information on costs, symptoms and more.

There can be a number of reasons why the engine starts with difficulty, makes a noise or does not start at all.

Usually when the engine turns over or makes a noise it is unlikely that the car's battery is flat. It is more likely that there is an issue with the car's fuel or ignition system. Alternatively, it might be the case that there is an electronic problem or there might be more significant mechanical damage to the engine's supporting systems like a broken timing or serpentine belt.

If the indicator lights are turned on it is likely that the problem lies with the alternator, starter motor or another component related to the charging system. If there is a light on the dashboard indicating an issue with the security or anti-theft systems, then there is an issue with the immobilizer/security system (it is advisable you contact a specialist in this case, we might not be able to help). On top of that, should any warning lights have lit up then it is advisable to have an inspection, to find out why the light may be on.

If none of the indicator lights on the dashboard light up it might mean that the battery is flat. This can be because of any number of issues, like:

  • Faulty battery charging system
  • The Battery is flat / needs recharging
  • Electrical issues
  • Broken serpentine belt
  • Faulty alternator
  • Battery cable issues

Find out what problem the car is facing exactly by selecting your car at the top of this page and identify the problem in our online diagnostic tool!

What happens next

After a booking has been made, one of our mechanics will carry out an inspection to locate the source of the problem and establish the exact cause of why the car won't start. If there is a minor issue the mechanic will endeavour to carry out any small fixes in the labour time quoted for initially. Should there be any bigger problems the mechanic will provide you with a quote for the work and parts necessary to repair the problem. If you accept the quote the mechanic will order the parts and arrange for a time to carry out the repair.

Book a trusted mechanic today

  • Vetted mechanics
  • Save up to 50%
  • Fast online booking

Recent Car Won't Start inspection quotes

£60.02

Car Won't Start Inspection

Lexus RX 450h 3.5L 2013
Manningtree
£56.38

Car Won't Start Inspection

BMW 3 Series 320i 2.2L 2002
West Byfleet
£63.62

Car Won't Start Inspection

Fiat Scudo 1.9L 2005
Hastings
£54.56

Car Won't Start Inspection

Mini Countryman One 1.6L 2010 13
Camberley