Car won't start? Book a car won't start inspection today

Low cost car won't start inspections at your home or office. Get a free quote and book online with one of our mobile mechanics today.

5 reasons people love ClickMechanic:

  • 50% cheaper than franchise dealers
  • Instant fixed price quotes
  • No need to go to the garage
  • Fully vetted & qualified mechanics
  • 1 year parts & repairs warranty

Let's get you started

"I was very cautious about using ClickMechanic, I should not have been. The service was just what I would have wished for and my car was fixed at my place of work. Highly recommended." - Sara A. Stickley

Watch video

Meet some of our highly rated mechanics

If you don't book and pay through the ClickMechanic platform you can't leave a review.


368 Reviews


G.r. Autocare

Peterborough , 30 years of experience

23rd March 2018
“yes checked it out and gave advice what he thought was the problem he didnt fix it but advised us on the problem and what to do”


Peugeot 106 • Car Won't Start Inspection

30th July 2016
“gary was on time and full of knowledge ,he gave me advise on where to go in the local area which i found very helpful,he provided a great service and would happily recommend you guys thanks to gary



Ford Focus • Rear wheel bearing (one) replacement


27 Reviews


Tab Automotive

London , 14 years of experience

22nd March 2018
“Top job! Chris diagnosed the problem within a few minutes, removed the offending part for me so I could fix it myself, gave me some pointers and even put air in my tyres because they were looking a bit flat. All fixed now, thanks.“


Renault Trafic • Car Won't Start Inspection

1st March 2018
“Chris was absolutely (Brilliant / Outstanding ) I have had dealings in my lifetime with macanic''s, you could from the start he new his profession inside -out. I would recommend your company and Chris without any hesitation.

A great thank you.



Smart fortwo • Full Service


28 Reviews


Avs Servicing

Wrexham , 10 years of experience

22nd March 2018
“Adam was very friendly and knowledgeable and got to the problem very quickly.He certainly knew what he was doing.Highly recommendable.”


BMW 3 Series • Car Won't Start Inspection

14th March 2018
“Really impressed with the customer service when getting my MOT today.
They arrived to collect the car exactly on time and were happy to arrange it around my work meetings, and I had the car back and MOT results 1 1/2 hrs later.
Couldn’t ask for more.“


Mazda MX-5 • MOT with collection & delivery


205 Reviews


Mainly Brakes

Edinburgh , 10 years of experience

22nd March 2018
“Had the problem identified quickly & explained the action required in straight forward language. He also spotted another potential problem.”


Fiat Grande Punto • Car Won't Start Inspection

3rd August 2016
“Great service”


Vauxhall/Opel Astra-H • Noise At Slow Speeds Inspection

Wrench hand blue

1 Reviews


21st March 2018
“Nathan was fantastic, although he couldn’t fix my car issue as it was more complicated than first thought he explored all options would highly recommend clickMechanic and would use again fast and efficient credit to your company
Emma Crompton.”


Jeep Grand Cherokee • Car Won't Start Inspection

200+ Expert Mechanics

Total expert car won't start inspection mechanics

1418 Ratings

Total number of car won't start inspection reviews

Average Rating

Average user rating for car won't start inspection bookings

Want to learn more about Car Won't Start inspections?

Read our short guide with information on costs, symptoms and more.

There can be a number of reasons why the engine starts with difficulty, makes a noise or does not start at all.

Usually when the engine turns over or makes a noise it is unlikely that the car's battery is flat. It is more likely that there is an issue with the car's fuel or ignition system. Alternatively, it might be the case that there is an electronic problem or there might be more significant mechanical damage to the engine's supporting systems like a broken timing or serpentine belt.

If the indicator lights are turned on it is likely that the problem lies with the alternator, starter motor or another component related to the charging system. If there is a light on the dashboard indicating an issue with the security or anti-theft systems, then there is an issue with the immobilizer/security system (it is advisable you contact a specialist in this case, we might not be able to help). On top of that, should any warning lights have lit up then it is advisable to have an inspection, to find out why the light may be on.

If none of the indicator lights on the dashboard light up it might mean that the battery is flat. This can be because of any number of issues, like:

  • Faulty battery charging system
  • The Battery is flat / needs recharging
  • Electrical issues
  • Broken serpentine belt
  • Faulty alternator
  • Battery cable issues

Find out what problem the car is facing exactly by selecting your car at the top of this page and identify the problem in our online diagnostic tool!

What happens next

After a booking has been made, one of our mechanics will carry out an inspection to locate the source of the problem and establish the exact cause of why the car won't start. If there is a minor issue the mechanic will endeavour to carry out any small fixes in the labour time quoted for initially. Should there be any bigger problems the mechanic will provide you with a quote for the work and parts necessary to repair the problem. If you accept the quote the mechanic will order the parts and arrange for a time to carry out the repair.

Book a trusted mechanic today

  • Vetted mobile mechanics
  • Save up to 50%
  • Fast online booking