Car won't start? Book a car won't start inspection today

Low cost car won't start inspections at your home or office. Get a free quote and book online with one of our mobile mechanics today.

5 reasons people love ClickMechanic:

  • 50% cheaper than franchise dealers
  • Instant fixed price quotes
  • No need to go to the garage
  • Fully vetted & qualified mechanics
  • 1 year parts & repairs warranty

"I was very cautious about using ClickMechanic, I should not have been. The service was just what I would have wished for and my car was fixed at my place of work. Highly recommended." - Sara A. Stickley

Watch video

Meet some of our highly rated mechanics

If you don't book and pay through the ClickMechanic platform you can't leave a review.


Aysimf8p1pzxknhoizkp

34 Reviews

Verified

Mekaniks

London , 10 years of experience


15th August 2017
“Excellent knowledge efficient repair easy personality very pleased with the work he did .

RAYMOND

Renault Kangoo • Car Won't Start Inspection

28th June 2017
“Adam was very good got on with the job and gave some good advice , let us know how long we had left on break pads and tyres but not pushy about replacement

KEN

Mercedes-Benz GL-Class • Major Service


Wrench hand blue

8 Reviews

Verified

Advance Mechanics

Stoke-on-Trent , 15 years of experience


15th August 2017
“Very thorough, speedy and helpful.”

JIM

RenaultCar Won't Start Inspection

15th July 2017
“Great knowledge of the vehicle and sound advice on what needs doing. Fantastic customer service and communication”

JACOB

Volkswagen Transporter T4 • Pre-purchase Inspection


Ozceqeu3fnzmqqunnjq1

145 Reviews

Verified

Fast Fix Automotive

Saint Helens , 13 years of experience


15th August 2017
“Ian came to do a no start diagnosis, he arrived within the time slot i was given, rang to tell me he was here and proceded to test the car. Car was diagnosed with problems i kind of suspected it to have, but i am not a mechanic, so it was good to have a professional to tell me, for a reasonable price. At the end of the test Ian explained the problems and potential costs to fix, but didn't pressure me to agree to anything there and then and also gave me good, honest advice regarding what to do next. Would recommend and will use the site again if needed “
READ MORE

DAVID

Ford Focus • Car Won't Start Inspection

24th January 2017
“Ian found and solved the problem very quickly. I was very pleased with the service. ”

EMMA

Hyundai Getz • Diagnostic Inspection


Xruvvzjzh9mfuidzxicg

55 Reviews

Verified

Jea Mobile Mechanics

Herts , 14 years of experience


15th August 2017
“john was very helpful would use him again
many thanks”

KENNETH

Volkswagen Golf IV • Car Won't Start Inspection

15th September 2016
“John quietly set to his task of inspection and then clearly described the follow up work required. ”

LYNNE

Renault Megane II • Diagnostic Inspection


Wrench hand blue

5 Reviews

Verified

Mjd Automotive

Glasgow , 10 years of experience


15th August 2017
“Matt was excellent.
Arrived when he said he would , talked me through everything he was doing
And best of all got my van started.
Brilliant service ”

MIKEY

Ford Tourneo Connect • Car Won't Start Inspection

12th August 2017
“Matthew was very helpful even though the car still not working tried his hardest to try get it going but gave good advice on what I should do to see what the problem suggested tech 2 software specialist to look at the car .”

WILLIAM

Vauxhall/Opel Insignia • Fuel pump replacement

200+ Expert Mechanics

Total expert car won't start inspection mechanics

1293 Ratings

Total number of car won't start inspection reviews

Average Rating

Average user rating for car won't start inspection bookings

Want to learn more about Car Won't Start inspections?

Read our short guide with information on costs, symptoms and more.

There can be a number of reasons why the engine starts with difficulty, makes a noise or does not start at all.

Usually when the engine turns over or makes a noise it is unlikely that the car's battery is flat. It is more likely that there is an issue with the car's fuel or ignition system. Alternatively, it might be the case that there is an electronic problem or there might be more significant mechanical damage to the engine's supporting systems like a broken timing or serpentine belt.

If the indicator lights are turned on it is likely that the problem lies with the alternator, starter motor or another component related to the charging system. If there is a light on the dashboard indicating an issue with the security or anti-theft systems, then there is an issue with the immobilizer/security system (it is advisable you contact a specialist in this case, we might not be able to help). On top of that, should any warning lights have lit up then it is advisable to have an inspection, to find out why the light may be on.

If none of the indicator lights on the dashboard light up it might mean that the battery is flat. This can be because of any number of issues, like:

  • Faulty battery charging system
  • The Battery is flat / needs recharging
  • Electrical issues
  • Broken serpentine belt
  • Faulty alternator
  • Battery cable issues

Find out what problem the car is facing exactly by selecting your car at the top of this page and identify the problem in our online diagnostic tool!

What happens next

After a booking has been made, one of our mechanics will carry out an inspection to locate the source of the problem and establish the exact cause of why the car won't start. If there is a minor issue the mechanic will endeavour to carry out any small fixes in the labour time quoted for initially. Should there be any bigger problems the mechanic will provide you with a quote for the work and parts necessary to repair the problem. If you accept the quote the mechanic will order the parts and arrange for a time to carry out the repair.

Book a trusted mechanic today

  • Vetted mobile mechanics
  • Save up to 50%
  • Fast online booking