Car won't start? Book a car won't start inspection today

Low cost car won't start inspections at your home or office. Get a free quote and book online with one of our mobile mechanics today.

  • Save up to 50% versus franchise dealers
  • The best mechanics you can find online
  • Free instant quotes for car won't start inspections
Watch video

Meet some of our highly rated mechanics

If you don't book and pay through the ClickMechanic platform you can't leave a review.


Rjmqyhedps12d2szvvrt

234 Reviews

Verified

G.r. Autocare

Peterborough, 30 years of experience


24th March 2017
“Gary was very helpful, honest and knowledgeable with great advice. Was late for the appointment, but let me know well beforehand that he had been held up. Will use again. ”

JOHN

Volkswagen Passat • Car Won't Start Inspection

30th August 2016
“Great service”

STEVE

Land Rover Range Rover Evoque • Front brake pads (all) replacement


B7gxcfwfx3jo02wfieyq

21 Reviews

Verified

23rd March 2017
“Ian was very polite helpful and knew his job, weel done Ian.”

MIKE

BMW 3 Series • Car Won't Start Inspection

17th April 2016
“Would highly recommend your mechanic to any potential new comers, Ian the mechanic who carried out the work was superb in all departments, very knowledgeable and competent and carried out the repairs very efficiently.”

PAUL

Iveco Daily • Service - Major


Wrench hand blue

10 Reviews

Verified

M.r.s

Kent, 9 years of experience


23rd March 2017
“Lee turned up on time as arranged. He was friendly and happy to talk about the problems with the car. At the moment there is still work to be done so unable to comment about that. ”

C

Suzuki Wagon R • Car Won't Start Inspection

1st March 2016
“Excellent mechanic, could not have been more helpful, rescheduling due to a problem with the car. Always available on text and kept us up to date.

Highly recommended
Thank you very much ”

KATE

BMW X3 • Pre-purchase Inspection


Ncnz5crx6q7altd4s79v

38 Reviews

Verified

Mick Ryan Autos

Bradford, 15 years of experience


22nd March 2017
“Mick was very quick to find the problem, got the car sorted and running without to much delay, eventually diagnosed that the battery wasn't holding enough charge to start car, unfortunately the car wouldn't start after being switched off, had to purchase a new battery, Mick said I might have to if it still would not start.”

PETER

Citroen C4 Picasso/Grand Picasso • Car Won't Start Inspection

27th November 2015
“Great service, polite and knowledgable and reasonably priced.

Thanks”

COLIN

Peugeot Boxer • Camshaft drive belt/chain replacement


Etxyz4bw8absrqrq6hkz

101 Reviews

Verified

D Pyart

Derbyshire, 25 years of experience


20th March 2017
“This mechanic was great, took no time at all, I mean less than 2 minutes from pulling up to diagnose the problem, he gave an honest appraisal of the way forward, which unfortunately wasn't a good one for my son's car. The engine was "kaput" with a broken cambelt.......................He gave honest feedback, was a friendly geezer..... If I needed a mobile mechanic again, I would trust this guy....“
READ MORE

IAN

Peugeot 307 • Car Won't Start Inspection

21st July 2016
“Darren was excellent & he took the time to explain it all to a female who knows nothing about the inner workings of an engine. ”

KENDAL

Skoda Octavia II • Plug-in Diagnostic Inspection

200+ Expert Mechanics

Total expert car won't start mechanics

1100 Ratings

Total number of car won't start reviews

Average Rating

Average user rating for car won't start bookings

Want to learn more about Car Won't Start inspections?

Read our short guide with information on costs, symptoms and more.

There can be a number of reasons why the engine starts with difficulty, makes a noise or does not start at all.

Usually when the engine turns over or makes a noise it is unlikely that the car's battery is flat. It is more likely that there is an issue with the car's fuel or ignition system. Alternatively, it might be the case that there is an electronic problem or there might be more significant mechanical damage to the engine's supporting systems like a broken timing or serpentine belt.

If the indicator lights are turned on it is likely that the problem lies with the alternator, starter motor or another component related to the charging system. If there is a light on the dashboard indicating an issue with the security or anti-theft systems, then there is an issue with the immobilizer/security system (it is advisable you contact a specialist in this case, we might not be able to help). On top of that, should any warning lights have lit up then it is advisable to have an inspection, to find out why the light may be on.

If none of the indicator lights on the dashboard light up it might mean that the battery is flat. This can be because of any number of issues, like:

  • Faulty battery charging system
  • The Battery is flat / needs recharging
  • Electrical issues
  • Broken serpentine belt
  • Faulty alternator
  • Battery cable issues

Find out what problem the car is facing exactly by selecting your car at the top of this page and identify the problem in our online diagnostic tool!

What happens next

After a booking has been made, one of our mechanics will carry out an inspection to locate the source of the problem and establish the exact cause of why the car won't start. If there is a minor issue the mechanic will endeavour to carry out any small fixes in the labour time quoted for initially. Should there be any bigger problems the mechanic will provide you with a quote for the work and parts necessary to repair the problem. If you accept the quote the mechanic will order the parts and arrange for a time to carry out the repair.

Book a trusted mechanic today

  • Vetted mobile mechanics
  • Save up to 50%
  • Fast online booking