Car won't start? Book a car won't start inspection today

Over 1.5 million quotes since 2013

Excellent rating - 9.3 out of 10 (4300+ reviews)

Get a quote


Not sure what's wrong?

Get a free phone consultation with one of our in-house mechanics, with an average of 20 years experience. Fill in your details and they'll give you a call back within 2 hours. (Monday to Friday 8am - 6:30pm)

Up to 50% cheaper than franchise dealers

Instant fixed price quotes
(no hidden estimates)

Fully vetted & qualified mechanics

1 year parts & repairs warranty

Next day bookings at your home or office

Get your car repaired at your home or office

Recent Reviews Related to Car Won't Start Inspection


Asz5aekl3an7vgnw301x

28 Reviews

Verified

Moores Mobile Auto Repairs

Mobile mechanic in Chorley, 29 years of experience


21st March 2019
“ian very quickly identified the problem and fixed it immediately. very pleased with his work and would use him again”

WILLIAM

Dacia Sandero • Car Won't Start Inspection

24th June 2015
“the mechanic Ian was excellent he contacted me to tell me he was on the way and performed an in depth examination of the car I was considering buying and gave a detailed report, all in all excellent service.”

DAVID

Citroen C3 Picasso • Pre-purchase Inspection


Wrench hand blue

142 Reviews

Verified

Mjd Automotive

Garage in Glasgow, 10 years of experience


20th March 2019
“Friendly, efficient and fixed it promptly. Couldn’t have been any better. Very happy.”

PHILLIP

Fiat Grande Punto • Car Won't Start Inspection

24th December 2018
“Great service as always from Matthew. I wouldn't use anyone else now that I know how reliable and professional he is. Highly recommended.”

SUSAN

Toyota Yaris • Diagnostic Inspection


Wrench hand blue

217 Reviews

Verified

S D Norgate Mobile Mechanic

Mobile mechanic in Bracknell, 13 years of experience


20th March 2019
“Very friendly. He found out that the problem was the alternator. So now I'm waiting for him to come and replace it on Friday.”

ANDREI

Renault Clio • Car Won't Start Inspection

31st December 2018
“Very happy with the service, Sam was courteous and accommodating. Highly recommended.,”

CHARLES

Citroen Berlingo • Major Service


Mfnrmwiff5f5wz0rs6ij

268 Reviews

Verified

Md Miah

Mobile mechanic in London, 8 years of experience


18th March 2019
“Mohammed was helpful, friendly and professional. He diagnosed the solved the problem quickly.”

LEON

Hyundai i10 • Car Won't Start Inspection

23rd August 2017
“Helpful and knowledgeable. Gave me a lift to the location. Good service ”

RYAN

Audi A2 • Pre-purchase Inspection


N92wbf8iv3ic38hoeqaf

27 Reviews

Verified

Lou's Autos

Garage in Hornchurch, 9 years of experience


15th March 2019
“Louis was excellent.
Friendly and knowledgable..
Satisfied with the work carried out.”

ANN

Ford Fiesta • Car Won't Start Inspection

31st October 2018
“Louis is a really friendly mechanic that is good at his job, he knows what he is doing, he showed up right at the time he said he would come, he listen when I talk and he explain so I could understand what was wrong with my car. Perfect service.“
READ MORE

ORVILLE

BMW 6 Series • Diagnostic Inspection

200+ Expert Mechanics

Total expert car won't start inspection mechanics

1608 Ratings

Total number of car won't start inspection reviews

Average Rating

Average user rating for car won't start inspection bookings

Want to learn more about Car Won't Start inspections?

Read our short guide with information on costs, symptoms and more.

There can be a number of reasons why the engine starts with difficulty, makes a noise or does not start at all.

Usually when the engine turns over or makes a noise it is unlikely that the car's battery is flat. It is more likely that there is an issue with the car's fuel or ignition system. Alternatively, it might be the case that there is an electronic problem or there might be more significant mechanical damage to the engine's supporting systems like a broken timing or serpentine belt.

If the indicator lights are turned on it is likely that the problem lies with the alternator, starter motor or another component related to the charging system. If there is a light on the dashboard indicating an issue with the security or anti-theft systems, then there is an issue with the immobilizer/security system (it is advisable you contact a specialist in this case, we might not be able to help). On top of that, should any warning lights have lit up then it is advisable to have an inspection, to find out why the light may be on.

If none of the indicator lights on the dashboard light up it might mean that the battery is flat. This can be because of any number of issues, like:

  • Faulty battery charging system
  • The Battery is flat / needs recharging
  • Electrical issues
  • Broken serpentine belt
  • Faulty alternator
  • Battery cable issues

Find out what problem the car is facing exactly by selecting your car at the top of this page and identify the problem in our online diagnostic tool!

What happens next

After a booking has been made, one of our mechanics will carry out an inspection to locate the source of the problem and establish the exact cause of why the car won't start. If there is a minor issue the mechanic will endeavour to carry out any small fixes in the labour time quoted for initially. Should there be any bigger problems the mechanic will provide you with a quote for the work and parts necessary to repair the problem. If you accept the quote the mechanic will order the parts and arrange for a time to carry out the repair.

Book a trusted mechanic today

Get an instant quote, then book a vetted mechanic to fix your car at your home or office.

  • Vetted mechanics
  • Save up to 50%
  • Fast online booking

Recent Car Won't Start inspection quotes

£60.02

Car Won't Start Inspection

Lexus RX 450h 3.5L 2013
Manningtree
£56.38

Car Won't Start Inspection

BMW 3 Series 320i 2.2L 2002
West Byfleet
£63.62

Car Won't Start Inspection

Fiat Scudo 1.9L 2005
Hastings
£54.56

Car Won't Start Inspection

Mini Countryman One 1.6L 2010 13
Camberley