Car won't start? Book a car won't start inspection today

Low cost car won't start inspections at your home or office. Get a free quote and book online with one of our mobile mechanics today.

5 reasons people love ClickMechanic:

  • 50% cheaper than franchise dealers
  • Instant fixed price quotes
  • No need to go to the garage
  • Fully vetted & qualified mechanics
  • 1 year parts & repairs warranty

"I was very cautious about using ClickMechanic, I should not have been. The service was just what I would have wished for and my car was fixed at my place of work. Highly recommended." - Sara A. Stickley

Watch video

Meet some of our highly rated mechanics

If you don't book and pay through the ClickMechanic platform you can't leave a review.


Wrench hand blue

476 Reviews

Verified

Mobile Autocare

Essex , 20 years of experience


23rd October 2017
“Darren was great did a great job finding the problem I was was surprised at the faults he found but tracked it down to the one causing them all great stuff”

GARY

Vauxhall/Opel Corsa-C • Car Won't Start Inspection

10th June 2016
“Excellent service delightful mechanic cannot fault at all ”

SIMON

Volkswagen Fox • Alternator replacement


Nkw1njqmey2wbp90scpc

51 Reviews

Verified

23rd October 2017
“Very friendly
Very efficient”

AIRES

Honda Jazz • Car Won't Start Inspection

20th July 2017
“Greg was very friendly and knowledgable and he was very understanding of my situation as a teacher and having pupils in the class while the work was being done. ”

NAOMI

Ford Kuga • Front brake pads (all) replacement


Pd8qorjn755uznsa8xcc

119 Reviews

Verified

Mc Son Autos

Surrey , 10 years of experience


23rd October 2017
“Robert is a lovely guy who knows what he's talking about, very happy with the work done trying to find out why our Mondeo wouldn't start. ”

THOMAS

Ford Mondeo • Car Won't Start Inspection

7th March 2017
“Rob was on the ball very professional every question I had he answered well car is running well I will definitely recommend him again and the company he works for ”

CRAIG

Mercedes-Benz SLK • Alternator belt replacement


Wxoqujt5dwep6ybb7iqs

11 Reviews

Verified

Mk Autos

Romford , 11 years of experience


19th October 2017
“Martin was very helpful dealt with the issues that arose in respect of a faulty new part that was issued to him and complete the job exactly when he said he would. He kept me informed every step of the way.”

ROY

Ford Ka • Car Won't Start Inspection

30th September 2017
“Martin was brilliant. He was punctual, he told me every thing he was doing and he carried out the work quickly and efficiently. Thank you. ”

LORINA

Land Rover Range Rover Evoque • Front brake pads (all) replacement


Yfrmdwicgaiynvij6uib

29 Reviews

Verified

Advance Mechanics

Stoke-on-Trent , 15 years of experience


17th October 2017
“Jaz was really knowledgeable and I need to use my car more ”

Porsche Panamera • Car Won't Start Inspection

22nd August 2017
“Jaz was FAB”

VALENTINA

Chevrolet Kalos • Electronic Throttle Control Inspection

200+ Expert Mechanics

Total expert car won't start inspection mechanics

1352 Ratings

Total number of car won't start inspection reviews

Average Rating

Average user rating for car won't start inspection bookings

Want to learn more about Car Won't Start inspections?

Read our short guide with information on costs, symptoms and more.

There can be a number of reasons why the engine starts with difficulty, makes a noise or does not start at all.

Usually when the engine turns over or makes a noise it is unlikely that the car's battery is flat. It is more likely that there is an issue with the car's fuel or ignition system. Alternatively, it might be the case that there is an electronic problem or there might be more significant mechanical damage to the engine's supporting systems like a broken timing or serpentine belt.

If the indicator lights are turned on it is likely that the problem lies with the alternator, starter motor or another component related to the charging system. If there is a light on the dashboard indicating an issue with the security or anti-theft systems, then there is an issue with the immobilizer/security system (it is advisable you contact a specialist in this case, we might not be able to help). On top of that, should any warning lights have lit up then it is advisable to have an inspection, to find out why the light may be on.

If none of the indicator lights on the dashboard light up it might mean that the battery is flat. This can be because of any number of issues, like:

  • Faulty battery charging system
  • The Battery is flat / needs recharging
  • Electrical issues
  • Broken serpentine belt
  • Faulty alternator
  • Battery cable issues

Find out what problem the car is facing exactly by selecting your car at the top of this page and identify the problem in our online diagnostic tool!

What happens next

After a booking has been made, one of our mechanics will carry out an inspection to locate the source of the problem and establish the exact cause of why the car won't start. If there is a minor issue the mechanic will endeavour to carry out any small fixes in the labour time quoted for initially. Should there be any bigger problems the mechanic will provide you with a quote for the work and parts necessary to repair the problem. If you accept the quote the mechanic will order the parts and arrange for a time to carry out the repair.

Book a trusted mechanic today

  • Vetted mobile mechanics
  • Save up to 50%
  • Fast online booking