Car won't start? Book a car won't start inspection today

Low cost car won't start inspections at your home or office. Get a free quote and book online with one of our mobile mechanics today.

  • Save up to 50% versus franchise dealers
  • The best mechanics you can find online
  • Free instant quotes for car won't start inspections
Watch video

Meet some of our highly rated mechanics

If you don't book and pay through the ClickMechanic platform you can't leave a review.


Lx25qq6k9i2h0xcvtdyz

70 Reviews

Verified

1 Stop Car Centre

Nuneaton, 11 years of experience


24th April 2017
“Ahmed was great arrived on time and great communication and he gave us a very competitive quote for our repair which we were pleased with. This is the first time we have used click mechanic and have been using the same mechanic for 6 years but we wanted a fix in a hurry and was worried that we may get charged an inflated price but we were not, very pleased with the service thanks .”

MARTIN

Nissan Micra • Car Won't Start Inspection

12th May 2016
“Ahmed was great. Communicated with me regarding times and about the fault. Also very polite and new exactly what he was doing. Would recommend him to anyone”

ALEC

Vauxhall/Opel Corsa-D • Door mirror replacement - electrically adjusted - one


B6axjzv3qtpc9akvq74e

34 Reviews

Verified

Advanced Auto Repairs

Charfield, 7 years of experience


23rd April 2017
“Ash was very good, and I was very happy with the work he did to identify the problem.”

IAN

Peugeot 207 • Car Won't Start Inspection

17th March 2017
“Mike was great - did a really good check on the car and went above and beyond to assist and ensure I was purchasing a sound machine at an accurate price. He even texted later with more information on the right price for the quality!.”

KATHERINE

Volkswagen Tiguan • Pre-purchase Inspection


Hkxdom0ghc5uu0dvz4uk

8 Reviews

Verified

Mida's Autos

Corby, 10 years of experience


22nd April 2017
“The work carried out was fine till the problem returned.”

ALEX

Jaguar S-Type • Car Won't Start Inspection

11th April 2017
“Good service ”

JAY

Vauxhall/Opel Insignia • Car Won't Start Inspection


V1fvpd58jmopkmuhxbsb

91 Reviews

Verified

21st April 2017
“I wasn't there myself but my father was very happy with John's work and friendliness.”

IAN

Mazda 3 • Car Won't Start Inspection

7th April 2017
“Excellent”

BOB

Ford Sportka • Noise At Slow Speeds Inspection


Pd8qorjn755uznsa8xcc

104 Reviews

Verified

Mc Son Autos

Surrey, 10 years of experience


21st April 2017
“called on update to where he was called again saying he was about to turn up got the car running but found some other faults that i will get sorted ace guy”

LUKE

Mazda RX-8 • Car Won't Start Inspection

27th June 2016
“Displayed good competence and inspired confidence ”

ALEX

Volvo XC90 • Service - Major

200+ Expert Mechanics

Total expert car won't start mechanics

1142 Ratings

Total number of car won't start reviews

Average Rating

Average user rating for car won't start bookings

Want to learn more about Car Won't Start inspections?

Read our short guide with information on costs, symptoms and more.

There can be a number of reasons why the engine starts with difficulty, makes a noise or does not start at all.

Usually when the engine turns over or makes a noise it is unlikely that the car's battery is flat. It is more likely that there is an issue with the car's fuel or ignition system. Alternatively, it might be the case that there is an electronic problem or there might be more significant mechanical damage to the engine's supporting systems like a broken timing or serpentine belt.

If the indicator lights are turned on it is likely that the problem lies with the alternator, starter motor or another component related to the charging system. If there is a light on the dashboard indicating an issue with the security or anti-theft systems, then there is an issue with the immobilizer/security system (it is advisable you contact a specialist in this case, we might not be able to help). On top of that, should any warning lights have lit up then it is advisable to have an inspection, to find out why the light may be on.

If none of the indicator lights on the dashboard light up it might mean that the battery is flat. This can be because of any number of issues, like:

  • Faulty battery charging system
  • The Battery is flat / needs recharging
  • Electrical issues
  • Broken serpentine belt
  • Faulty alternator
  • Battery cable issues

Find out what problem the car is facing exactly by selecting your car at the top of this page and identify the problem in our online diagnostic tool!

What happens next

After a booking has been made, one of our mechanics will carry out an inspection to locate the source of the problem and establish the exact cause of why the car won't start. If there is a minor issue the mechanic will endeavour to carry out any small fixes in the labour time quoted for initially. Should there be any bigger problems the mechanic will provide you with a quote for the work and parts necessary to repair the problem. If you accept the quote the mechanic will order the parts and arrange for a time to carry out the repair.

Book a trusted mechanic today

  • Vetted mobile mechanics
  • Save up to 50%
  • Fast online booking