Buchanans Garage Services , Scotland - South West | ClickMechanic

Book Buchanans Garage Services

(8 ratings)

  • 20 years professional experience

  • 31 completed bookings

  • Active since December 2019

Buchanans Garage Services , Scotland - South West | ClickMechanic

David B
Jim
30th July 2020
Ford Focus Major Service
Overall
Quality
Punctuality
Communication

Started off ok. Mechanic arrived in allotted time. Car also returned ahead of schedule. On the face of it seemed to do a good job...However and unfortunately that's kind of where it ends. Car went through it's MOT from Arnold Clark on 22/06/20. There were 3 advisories reported. Both Front and Back Brake Pads and Rear Driver Side Tyre would need attention in near future. None of which was mentioned in the service report. I would point out here also, that it was my intention to have the Mechanic in question carry out the work on these. More importantly however in these days of Covid19. Cleanliness was scant, to say the least. No seat coverings, found the Steering Wheel, Gear Stick and Hand Brake all sticky to the touch. On self sanitizing same, the the sanitizing wipes were covered in Oil / Grease. A worrying development to be perfectly honest. Lastly my service book was filled in, in ink, but has not been stamped. All in all, not the greatest car service experience of my life. Read more

Reply from Buchanans Garage Services:

Hi I tried to call u to discuss the matter I am the owner and I am currently on holiday at the moment if u wish to bring the car in on mon I will arrange for ur brake pads to be replaced I can only apologise on behalf of the mecanic

Laura
12th July 2020
Nissan X-Trail Fan belt replacement
Overall
Quality
Punctuality
Communication

They were excellent. Friendly and courteous . Did a great job on my jeep . Had the fan belt replaced . Efficient

Simon
4th July 2020
Dodge Caliber Starter motor replacement
Overall
Quality
Punctuality
Communication

Great service and kept informed at every turn. Part was difficult to get so advised me as soon as this was known but still got the car back the following day. Picked up and dropped off from my house. Would recommend

David
20th June 2020
Ford Ka Clutch replacement
Fitting of slave cylinder
Overall
Quality
Punctuality
Communication

David was great. He was quick to rectify an issue with faulty replacement part. Would definitely use again.

Eric
18th June 2020
Renault Twingo Full Service
MOT with collection & delivery
Fitting of front brakes
Overall
Quality
Punctuality
Communication

Service light still displaying should be out,requires to rectified
Steering wheel left covered in dirty condition
No date in log book
Would have preferred to have been advised of total cost before money taken out of my account
Was suprised mechanic did not know that the engine in a Twingo is at back

Reply from Buchanans Garage Services:

Hi as I have already said i will come up and put the service light out I have missed that when I serviced it. I did also offer to pay to have ur car cleaned I didn’t drive ur car after it was moted so I didn’t see the steering wheel was dirty.
I call u regarding the price of ur brake discs and pads and gave u a price for the job to which u told me to go ahead and get it done and moted I don’t take money out ur bank it’s click mechanic and I get paid at a later date.
I have never worked on a Renault twingo before so that’s why a didn’t know the engine was in rear of the car.
I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Scott
19th May 2020
BMW 3 Series Full Service
Overall
Quality
Punctuality
Communication

Had full service done,no issues with workmanship, having car picked up from house was useful also. Then dropped back off, good service and will use again .

Reply from Buchanans Garage Services:

Thank you was a pleasure meeting you

Kevin
13th May 2020
Volkswagen Golf Full Service
Brake pads replacement - rear (all)
Overall
Quality
Punctuality
Communication

Full service apparently carried out with rear brake pads replaced and the only issue was that a new rear caliper was needed on the drivers side. Two weeks and only 200 miles later a VAG specialist stated that the passenger side rear coil spring is broken, there is a problem with the passenger side shock absorber, a ball joint bolt is snapped on the drivers side and a spring is missing from the rear caliper that was fitted by the clickmechanic. Surely some if not all of these faults/repairs would have been noticed during the service.

Reply from Buchanans Garage Services:

Hi Kevin
I’m sorry that you feel that the work that was carried out was less than satisfactory. However this is the first that myself and click mechanic have heard about this. If you had contacted us and raised an issue with the work that was carried out I would have been happy to take a look at the vehicle.
When the work on your vehicle was carried out, there was a thorough inspection done and I am confident that if your vehicle had these issues I would have contacted you to make you aware of these.
Also after the work was carried out your vehicle was test driven and if these issues had been present they would also have been noticed at this stage.

I am very sorry that you are unhappy and I encourage you to raise a case with the resolution centre.
Read more

Darren
15th March 2020
Kia Sportage MOT with collection & delivery
Major Service
Overall
Quality
Punctuality
Communication

No complaints at all, great communication and work carried out as stated in quote